Greetings from B&B’s new Student Director

Hello! My name is Ellie Berry and I will be serving as Books & Beyond student director this fall, working alongside fellow students Max Breitinger and Brie Petty as part of the executive leadership team. I will be a senior in the fall, finishing my majors in French and International Studies. I joined Books & Beyond as a freshman in order to meet other students and to be a part of a project to which I could contribute in a meaningful way. My first year, I served as a pen pal and collaborator and continued sophomore year by adopting a leadership role on the collaborator team.

However, I’ve been away from the project and IU for the past year. I spent last summer studying in Dakar, Senegal and have just finished out the academic year in Aix-en-Provence, France. After spending time abroad, I particularly appreciate Books & Beyond’s emphasis on cross-cultural learning  and collaboration which provides a chance for participants of different backgrounds to work together towards a common goal.

I am excited to be diving into Books & Beyond when I finally return to campus in the fall. As Books & Beyond is in its fifth year, we are ready to hit the ground running, building on what we have learned in the past. I’m looking forward to working with our continued supporters as well as bringing new faces on board and watching new stories being shared. I’d like to wish you all a happy summer and welcome home to our group of volunteers who will be back from Rwanda soon!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

